Category: Personal Injury

Having a case that goes to federal court can feel like entering uncharted territory. This is to be expected as the judicial system operates under its own unique set of rules. These formalities can seem very different from other government institutions that you may be more familiar with. One aspect is the appointment of judges, which requires nomination by the President and confirmation from the Senate.

Now, you may be curious about the qualifications to become a federal judge. It may be surprising to learn that no experience is legally required to receive an appointment. But, these jobs are very difficult to get. The process involves a rigorous and thorough review of your background and qualifications.

The Difference Between Federal and State Courts

Before we discuss the appointment process for federal judges, it can be helpful to look at the different types of courts in the U.S. Note that if you are involved in a lawsuit after a car accident, it’s likely that your type of case will never end up in a federal court. This is because our country has two separate and distinct court systems. The federal court system follows different rules than the state court system.

Most criminal cases are handled in state courts. The same is true for the majority of civil cases. Civil cases typically involve issues like contract disputes, personal injury matters, and divorce. By contrast, federal courts handle cases involving interpretation of the Constitution, bankruptcies, and disputes between states. These courts also deal with federal law matters, such as tax issues and immigration.

Further, in some limited situations, a case that begins in state court could then be appealed to the federal U.S. Supreme Court. These cases most often involve some issue related to a Constitutional right.

The Judge Selection Process in California

In California, judges for the state courts are referred to as Superior Court judges. They are selected by the voters in nonpartisan elections and serve six-year terms. This means that technically no qualifications are necessary to become a Superior Court judge.

Note that the process is different for state judges at the Appellate and Supreme Court levels. These judges are first nominated by the Governor then confirmed by the Commission on Judicial Appointments.

The Commission consists of the Chief Justice, Attorney General, and a justice of the Court of Appeals. You must have practiced law for at least 10 years to be a state appellate or supreme court justice. Further, the State Bar of California’s Commission on Judicial Nominees performs a thorough background and credential check on all potential justices.

The Commission then makes its recommendation to the Governor. The Governor may, but is not required, to follow the Commission’s recommendation. Judges serve for a specific term, which can vary depending on the location. Note that there are no lifetime appointments at the state level.

Federal Judge Selection

Now, the selection process for federal judges differs from the state selection process. This is because the U.S. Constitution sets the standards for federal judges. Federal judges must be nominated by the President and then confirmed by the Senate. Note that the President does not take this selection process lightly. Nominations typically come from recommendations made by senators and members of the House.

These members are usually with the same political party as the President. Further advice comes from the Office of Legal Policy (the “OLP”) and the Attorney General. After selection, the Senate Judicial Committee conducts confirmation hearings. The hearings probe deeper into the nominees’ qualifications and background. The OLP helps with this process.

After an appointment is confirmed, most judges remain in their position for life. But, a judge may be removed for misbehavior. When necessary, Congress is responsible for initiating impeachment hearings to remove a judge.

There are some slight variations to this selection process for certain federal judges. For example, lower-level judges, such as magistrates working in a particular U.S. district, are appointed by district judges. Further, bankruptcy judges are also appointed by district judges. Bankruptcy judges serve 14-year terms that are renewable.

Qualifications to be a Federal Judge

As for federal qualifications, only bankruptcy and magistrate judges must be lawyers. There are no requirements to become a federal district or circuit court judge. The same is true for becoming a supreme court justice.

This means you could have no legal experience and still serve on a federal court. But, bear in mind that there is significant and rigorous scrutiny of all candidates.